Contact NIJ

To contact NIJ:

NIJ Staff Directory

Office of the Director
Howard SpivakActing Director
Jennifer Scherer Deputy Director
Thomas Feucht (on detail)Executive Senior Science Advisor
Steve SchuetzS​enior Science Advisor/Physical Scientist
Maureen McGoughSenior Advisor
Cheryl Crawford WatsonHuman Subjects Protection Officer
Rhea WalkerSpecial Assistant
LaKisha HonoreAdministrative Officer
Kandace MorrisAdministrative Assistant (Contractor)
​Office of Communications
Barry Bratburd Office Director (Acting)
Lee MockensturmWriter/Editor
Doris WellsWriter/Editor
Katie GreshmanCommunications Assistant (Contractor)
Sarah BersonWriter/Editor (Contractor)
Tammy HoltCrimeSolutions.gov (Contractor)
James Dawson Writer/Editor (Contractor)
Office of Grants Management (OGM)
Renee CooperOffice Director
Alissa GenoveseDivision Director
Alan SpanbauerDivision Director
​Brittany FitzhughAdministrative Assistant (Contractor)​
Cathy GirouardSenior Grant Manager
Laurie BrightSenior Grant Manager
Christine TorresGrant Manager
Patricia KashtanGrant Manager
Nancy MooreGrant Manager
Monte Evans IIGrant Manager
Natasha KenonGrant Manager
Jessica HighlandGrant Manager
Scott PrivetteGrant Manager
Sherry CochranGrant Manager
Shelia AndersonGrant Manager
Virginia Hernandez Grant Manager
Ted RobinsonGrant Manager
Office of Investigative and Forensic Sciences (OIFS)
Gerald LaPorteSupervisory Physical Scientist/Office Director
Heather WaltkeSupervisory Physical Scientist/Associate Office Director/Research and Technology Support Division Director
Ingrid HartwellAdministrative Assistant (Contractor)
Danielle McLeod-HenningPhysical Scientist/R&D
Gregory DuttonPhysical Scientist/R&D/Postconviction
Charles HeurichPhysical Scientist/DNA Backlog/Missing Persons/NamUs
Minh NguyenPhysical Scientist/DNA R&D/DNA Backlog
​Luther SchaefferPhysical Scientist​/Paul Coverdell Program
Frances ScottPhysical Scientist/R&D/Paul Coverdell Program
Jonathan McGrathPolicy Analyst
​Iris WagstaffNIJ Fellow​
​Carlos FaracoNIJ Fellow​
Danielle WeissContractor
Chad ErnstContractor
Dawn SchwartingContractor
Ruby ChaseContractor
Vanessa CastellanosContractor
Lisa BacheContractor
​Lindsay DePalmaContractor​
​Kristin PilgrimContractor​
Hannah BarcusContractor
Office of Operations
Portia GrahamOffice Director
Barry BratburdAssociate Office Director
Sherran ThomasProgram Operations Specialist/Contracts/Outgoing Reimbursable Agreements
Charlene HunterProgram Analyst/M&A Budget/Audit Liaison
Anna AndersonProgram Operations Specialist/Records Management
Margaret BattleGrants Management Specialist/Purchase Card Holder
Michelle ArbeitGrant Forecasting/Solicitation Management
Perminder KaurCompliance/Risk Management Specialist (Contractor)​
​Office of Research and Evaluation (ORE)
Seri IrazolaSupervisory Social Science Analyst/Office Director
Marilyn MosesSocial Science Analyst/Special Projects
Marina MendozaNIJ SRCD Executive Branch Policy Fellow
Jameela Conway-TurnerNIJ SCRD Executive Branch Policy Fellow
Yunsoo ParkNIJ SCRD Executive Branch Policy Fellow
Christin M. OgleNIJ APA Executive Branch Science Fellow
Jennifer HolmesGraduate​ Research Assistant​
Steven HafnerGraduate Research Assistant
Meghan DoughtyGraduate Research Assistant
Jenny AfkinichGraduate Research Assistant
Lizabeth RemreyGraduate Research Assistant
Jacqueline LeeGraduate Research Assistant
Caroline Harmon-DarrowGraduate Research Assistant
Kenneth Leon-RooseveltGraduate Research Assistant
Tiffany HardingAdministrative Assistance (Contractor)
ORE Crime, Violence and Victimization Division
Christine CrosslandSenior Social Science Analyst
Carrie MulfordSocial Science Analyst/Elder Mistreatment/Teen Dating Violence/Juvenile Justice/Offender Decision-Making
​Amy Leff​lerSocial Science Analyst
Bethany BackesSocial Science Analyst/Violence against Women/Intimate Partner and Domestic Violence/Sexual Violence/Stalking/Victimization/Researcher-Practitioner Partnerships
ORE Justice Systems Research Division
Angela MooreSupervisory Social Science Analyst/Division Director
Linda TruittSenior Social Science Analyst/Pretrial/Federal Sentencing/ Prosecution and Defense/Drugs & Crime/Courts
Katharine BrowningSenior Social Science Analyst/Forensic Social Science Policy
Marie GarciaSocial Science Analyst/Institutional & Community Corrections/ Offender Reentry/Graduate Research Fellowship Program in the Social and Behavioral Sciences
Brett ChapmanSocial Science Analyst/Policing
Eric MartinSocial Science Analyst/Offender Supervision/Drugs & Crime/ Courts/Policing
ORE Crime and Crime Prevention Division
Phelan WyrickSupervisory Social Science Analyst/Division Director
Nadine FrederiqueSenior Social Science Analyst
Barbara CombsSocial Science Analyst
Aisha QureshiSocial Science Analyst
Mary Poulin CarltonSocial Science Analyst/Detailee
Office of Science and Technology (OST)
Chris TillerySupervisory Operations, Research Analyst/Office Director
Deitra SchneebergAdministrative Assistant (Contractor)
OST Research Division
William FordSupervisory Physical Scientist/Division Director
Joel HuntComputer Scientist/Mapping and Analysis for Public Safety
Brian MontgomeryGeneral Engineer/Officer Safety
Martin NovakComputer Scientist/Digital Forensics
Jack HarnePhysical Scientist/Offender Supervision
Christopher RiganoComputer Scientist/Surveillance
Gerard ZitnikNIJ Fellow
Alisa MatinResearch Assistant
OST Policy and Standards Division
Mark GreeneSupervisory Program Manager/Division Director
Debra StoePhysical Scientist/Standards Policy
Joseph HeapsPhysical Scientist/Radio Frequency Spectrum Policy
Michael O'SheaProgram Manager/Compliance Testing Program
Date Modified: January 12, 2017